Board of Directors

The board of directors of the booster association Alumni Freiburg e.V. currently consists of the Chairperson Prof. Dr. Kerstin Krieglstein, who as Rector of the University also presides over our Association by virtue of her office, as well as a Deputy Chairperson and another Board member, who are elected from among the alumni/ae. Currently, these are Dr. Christine D. Althauser (Second Chairperson) and Dr. Eva Voß (Additional Board Member).

The executive board of directors currently consists of Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans-Jochen Schiewer, who chairs our association by virtue of his office as rector of the university, as well as a deputy chair and a managing director, both of whom are elected from among the alumni. They are currently Dr. Dorothea Rüland (deputy chair) and Rudolf-Werner Dreier (managing director), respectively.

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Krieglstein

On 1st October 2020 the first female rector in the history of the University of Freiburg has assumed office: Kerstin Krieglstein had previously been rector at the University of Konstanz since 1st August 2018. She studied Chemistry and Pharmacy, completed her PhD at the University of Marburg in Pharmacology in 1990 and took her postdoctoral lecturing qualification in Anatomy and Cellular Biology at the University of Heidelberg in 1997. After holding chairs at the University of Göttingen and the University of the Saarland, in 2007 she took up the Chair of Anatomy at the University of Freiburg. In 2013 the Faculty of Medicine here elected her its first salaried dean. She held this post from 1st April 2014 until her move to Konstanz and was at the same time a member of the board of the Freiburg University Medical Center. In addition she has been a member of the German National Academy of Natural Sciences Leopoldina since 2007.

Dr. Christine D. Althauser
Deputy Chair

Following her studies in Political Science, Slavic Studies and Sinology in Heidelberg, Dr. Christine D. Althauser lived in Taiwan to conduct various studies abroad and in the former Soviet Union on a scholarship from the German Academic Exchange Service DAAD. She later completed her doctorate with a dissertation on “Russia’s Path to the Council of Europe” and took on a lectureship in the Department of Political Science at the University of Freiburg between 2005 and 2007. Dr. Christine D. Althauser is a member of the German Foreign Service, became Ambassador to North Macedonia in 2014 and headed the German Consulate General in Shanghai until May 2021. She has been the second chairperson of the Alumni Freiburg e.V. association since May 2022.

Dr. Eva Voß
Additional Board Member

Dr. Eva Voß studied political science, history and gender studies at the University of Freiburg and received her doctorate in 2011. Her work was awarded the Austrian Johanna Dohnal Promotion Prize and the Freiburg Bertha Ottenstein Prize, among others. At the University of Freiburg, she was most recently head of the Gender & Diversity Unit.
She then worked as Director Diversity Management at Bertelsmann S.E. and for several years as Team Lead for New Ways of Working at EY (Ernst & Young). Since 2020, she has been Head of Diversity, Inclusion and People Care at BNP Paribas Germany & Austria. Voß is a speaker and author of various specialist books and educates professionals about the most important trends and developments in the field of diversity with her column “Diversity Check” in Human Resources Manager. She is involved with the Charta der Vielfalt e.V. as vice-chair and with the BNP Paribas Foundation as a board member. Since May 2022, she has been a board member of the booster association Alumni Freiburg e.V.